Bringing Those Thoughts Captive

 Have you ever been in a situation or circumstance that has your thoughts reeling in many directions? For example, when I went through a divorce there was a third party involved. My mind was continually filled with rejection, abandonment, fear, confusion, doubt and anything else that kept me from the peace of God! With the help of the Lord I began to ease my way through all these thoughts and emotions. It wasn’t an easy path and each step seemed harder than I could believe. But non-the less sorting through the thoughts of the mind can be hard and treacherous. 2nd Corinthians 10: 5. We are destroying speculation and every lofty thing (imagination) raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ. What I was going through was intense and I took this scripture literally. I would place my hands on my head several times a day and say “I bring every thought captive to the obedience and God and cast down every thought and imagination that exalts itself against the knowledge of Christ.” I did this until I had a break through and I, through the help of God was able to process all that was going on in my life. I then began to have the mind of Christ in this walk through this divorce. The rejection and abandonment began to go away because I came to know who I am in Christ and who Christ is in me. The fear turned to faith, the confusion turned into a peace, love and a sound mind, doubt turned to a blessed assurance and the torment silenced. Did my situation change, no, but I was changed in it. The word of God is more powerful than a two edged sword.  Oh the faithfulness of our Lord and Savior, because his promises are true, he is alive and through the Holy Spirit we are taught how to do what the scriptures say to do. I would like to add that this wasn’t a twenty four hour fix. It took months.  So bringing every thought captive to the obedience of God and casting down every imagination raised up against the knowledge of Christ takes me to the 10:6 that says “we are ready to punish all disobedience whenever your obedience is complete.” Jesus truly is a light on a path of destruction. But that destruction turned into my construction as I walked through the darkness into his likeness and light.

Leave a Reply

