Road Trips

Road trips are a favorite of mine. On a road trip I actually get to see more of Gods beautiful creation and meet more of his lovely people. I just took a 2000 mile road trip from Indiana to Kansas. My husband travels at times for his work and he had seven housing communities to deliver different things to. Fortunately my job is somewhat flexible and I was able to take the time off. The interesting thing about it is we calculated three days and it took us four days. Of course on the fourth day I was scheduled to work a closing shift. So I got home from our trip and twenty minutes later I was at work. The good part about that is I went from sitting and riding to walking and standing on my feet for the next several hours, which actually was very good for me. So back to our trip, we had beautiful weather, the farther west we got the warmer it got and the sun was shining almost all the way. That may not seem like much but coming from Indiana we have had very little sunshine this winter. I’m not normally affected by the lack of sunshine but this winter has proved that wrong. I think we had a seventeen day stretch of no sunshine and by day ten I was feeling it. So closing my eyes while riding with the sun beating down on me was glorious. Since we are in a company means of transportation I am not allowed to drive, so I’m the one who gets the cold drink, changes the radio and read. Yes I love to read and I’m able to read while riding which I understand many are not. I finished reading the last book in a twenty- three book series. It was great to have that time. My husband even asked me about the book. The look on his face was priceless as I tried hard to catch him up through all twenty- three books. The short versions of course. My husband and I do travel well together, so stopping at necessary times and stretching was no problem. We enjoyed the sites we did get to see and just enjoyed the change of scenery. The only sad part is that we couldn’t keep driving and make it a vacation. We are back to the daily routine of work and no play and anxiously awaiting spring to come. I’m ready to plant a few flowers and veggies, maybe even swing a golf club a few times. Hopefully there will be another road trip in the making and maybe the next one will be an actual vacation. 

