long time friendship

Through the years people come and go from in our lives. When I was a young single mom I went to work at a local store. There I met another young single mom. Our sons were 16 days apart in age and when we met they were a very cute six months old. We became friends with a lot in common. Eventually we both married and began adding to our families. She added two more sons and I added four more sons. We had fun getting together with the boys watching them play and become friends. We then became involved in a card club with several other women. We met once a month at night and I enjoyed the fellowship. I can remember my friend picking me up the first night and telling me that a couple of the girls were very religious and conversation might turn to that topic. I was pretty clueless about this topic but interested non- the- less. As time went on my life began to crumble, depression and fear became a part of my battle to survive. With the help of another friend I was told about Jesus, the gospel of salvation and soon gave my heart and life to Jesus. One night at card club there were only four of us. The two sisters who were Christians and my friend and I. Our, time together started by talking about the Lord. I then chimed in with all that I had been going through and how I was led to the Lord. With amazement the sisters said that this was an answer to prayer because they felt they should stop having this club. We met a few times after that but then life took us all in different directions. My friend who introduced me was still pretty skeptical of all this religious stuff, but we remained friends and stayed in touch. Then one day as we were talking she told me that she had accepted Jesus also and that I had a lot to do with her decision. I’m not sure what kind of influence I had on her but I do know that today after 44 years of friendship we live many miles apart but are close in our hearts and spirits. We call each other and encourage and pray for each other and our families. In the Lord there is no distance or division. We are truly one in the body of Christ. And that’s living life in Christ!

Leave a Reply

